Don’t Hide Your True Passion From Your Friends

18 May
Driving down the misty road leading to Scott Bateman School

Driving down the misty road leading to Scott Bateman School

Dear Margaret Shaw-MacKinnon,

Hi, my name is K.C.M.C.L. Thank-you very much for coming to Scott Bateman Middle School.  Thank you for all the valuable lessons on bullying and all the wonderful drawings you did with the class.

Drawing on the Whiteboard--Baby Nicholas Between his Parents

Drawing on the Whiteboard–Baby Nicholas Between his Parents

My favorite part is when all the boys told the truth about [their] lies and became friends with Alison and the Beech Nut. My favorite character was Nicholas. I loved it when you wrote baby talk for him. My favorite part is when he yells out “Munwo.” The valuable lesson I learned is don‘t hide your true passion from your friends and don‘t lie about who your friends are.

When I was in grade five, three girls would bully me at lunch because I sat in between them and there was one girl named M. who stood up for me. My Auntie is a teacher and I told her about your book and she is going to get it for her school to read. I loved the book. It was very good. Thank you for coming.

Sincerely,
K.L.

Artist and Students Draw The Beech Nut of Big Water Beach Cast of Characters

Artist and Students Draw The Beech Nut of Big Water Beach Cast of Characters

December 11, 2012

Dear K. C. M. C. L.,

Thank you for your kind letter about my visit to Scott Bateman Middle School and about your experience with The Beech Nut of Big Water Beach. I was pleased that you considered the lessons on bullying valuable! I was also pleased that you enjoyed my drawings because I love to draw.

I agree with you, that the happy ending in which the boys tell the truth and become friends with Alison and the Beech Nut is very satisfying. Also, it was fun to write baby talk for Nicholas. You really picked out important ideas about the book, that you shouldn’t hide your true passion from your friends, and you shouldn’t lie about who your friends are.

I was sorry to hear that you were bullied at lunch in Grade Five, but I was glad M. stood up for you! If the bullying ever happens again, you know that you can always go to a trusted adult like Mr. Popiel or the counselor, Mrs. Barb McLeod, for help, but it sounds as if it all worked out already.

Let your Auntie know that she can reach me through the Artists in the Schools website in the Artists in the Schools list of artists. I would be happy to come to her school!

Best wishes,
Margaret Shaw-MacKinnon

4 Responses to “Don’t Hide Your True Passion From Your Friends”

  1. munchow May 20, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    A wonderful correspondence. As always is so interesting to see and learn how kids are perceive what is going on around them. Love the drawing on the whiteboard.

    • shawmackinnon May 20, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      Thanks for your comments, Otto! In Manitoba, Canada, we are so fortunate to have an Arts Council that supports an Artists in the Schools program. I feel so fortunate to travel to schools around the province, and to interact with children and youth in creative activities. Sometimes we laugh ourselves silly over the drawings that appear on the board and on their papers!

  2. Eileen Moore June 12, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    Great work Margaret. Love to all the children!

    • shawmackinnon July 3, 2013 at 1:28 am #

      Thanks Eileen! I so enjoy working with children and youth in the field of art. Your message of love for the young ones is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

